top of page

About IABS


In order to promote translational research, the Indian Academy of Biomedical Sciences (IABS) was established with the vision, keen interest, and efforts of various scientists from India and abroad. The main objective of the academy is to disseminate knowledge and academic excellence in the field of biomedical sciences. The academy is registered under the Societies Act 1860 of the Government of India (No.2826-2011-2012). The IABS organizes CMEs, Workshops, Symposia throughout the year at different places, and an Annual International Conference with the primary aim to foster collaboration between clinicians and scientists to promote biomedical research and innovations and academic excellence in the field of Biomedical Sciences. 

IABS Office Bearers

Founder President

Prof. Hari S. Sharma, Netherlands


Prof. Bipin M. Tiwale, Kolhapur

Secretary General

Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi, Lucknow


Dr. Ranjana Singh, Lucknow

President (Elect)

Prof. Dr. Amarjit Singh Bhatia, Jammu

Vice Presidents

Dr. B.S.S. Rao, Bengaluru

Prof. Savita Yadav, New Delhi

International Advisers

Prof. Lindsey Brown, Australia

Prof. Pawan Singal, Canada

Prof. Chris Mulder, The Netherlands

Prof. Peter van der Spek, The Netherlands

Prof. Tariq M. Haqqi, USA

Prof. Titus Augustine, UK

Prof. Elisabeth Deindl, Germany

Prof. Janet Cunningham, Sweden

National Advisors

Dr. Girdhar Gyani, Delhi

Padma Shri Prof. Chooramani Gopal, Varanasi

Prof. T. Venkatesh, Bengaluru

Prof. L.M. Srivastava, New Delhi

Prof. Ramesh Chandra, Delhi

Prof. Ravindra K Garg, Lucknow

Prof. Shahid Jameel, Sonipat

IABS Awards

Padma Shri Prof. Mahdi Hasan Award for clinical research

Prof. Sohail Ahmad Award for basic research

Smt. Kusum Sharma Award for Young Woman Scientist

Prof. Nurul Islam Award for Best Oral Presentation by a Young Scientist

Shri. Om Prakash Sharma Award for Young Scientist
Mrs. Farha Deeba Haq Award for Young Scientist for Cancer Research

Mrs. Abida Mahdi Award for Neuroscience Research.

Dr. K.K. Srivastava & Prof. L.M. Srivastava Young Innovator Award

Life Time Achievement Award

For more details please visit

bottom of page